Jun 26, 2016
IndieReader on Pinterest IndieReader on Twitter IndieReader on Facebook

Alike But Indie

If You Liked “The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Dinnertime”, You’ll LOVE…

Choosing an indie (cook) book can be hard. We’re here to help.

Alike But Indie, Homepage Sub, Keri English  •  Feb 03, 2016

The #1 bestselling author and Food Network personality at last answers that age-old question—“What’s for Dinner?”—bringing together over 125 simple, scrumptious, step-by-step recipes that combine pantry staples with fresh ingredients for delicious dinners the whole family will love.

For families juggling school, work, and a host of other time-consuming daily obligations, the idea of making dinner from scratch can be daunting. Ree Drummond makes it easy to make simple, scrumptious, homemade meals with minimum fuss and maximum enjoyment. The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Dinnertime includes delicious, easy-to-make recipes for comfort classics, 16-minute meals, freezer-friendly food, as well as soups, main dish salads, and a favorite of her own family: breakfast for dinner.

Filled with Ree’s signature step-by-step photos, relatable humor, and irresistible, folksy charm, The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Dinnertime is the go-to cookbook every home cook can rely on for any—and every—night of the week.

If you love a good cookbook, here are 7 indies that could become your new best friend:

five ingredientFive Ingredient Cookbook by Hannie P. Scott

Looking for easy recipes? How about quick solutions that can be whipped up with five ingredients or less? Are you tired of complicated recipes with hard-to-find ingredients?

Inside this book you will find more than sixty simple and delicious recipes using five ingredients or less. No more having to find and buy obscure ingredients that you’ll only use once. From Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken and Slow Cooker Bacon Ranch Potatoes to Slow Cooker Peach Cobbler and Cinnamon Roll Waffles, chances are you already have everything you need right there on your kitchen shelf.

 the 8 x 8The 8X8 Cookbook by Kathy Strahs

With The 8×8 Cookbook, which was successfully funded by Kickstarter late last year, author Kathy Strahs elevates the simple 8×8-inch square baking dish–he perfect size for serving a family or small group of 4 to 6–into a dinnertime secret weapon for busy families.

Beyond the usual brownies and casseroles, the passionate force behind the blogs PaniniHappy.com and CookingOntheSide.com has created 64 modern “square meals”: easy weeknight one-dish meals such as Honey-Glazed Chicken with Root Vegetables, Sunday dinner recipes like Spinach-Pesto Lasagna, tasty recipes for sides such as Chard Apple Stuffing that would make a nice addition to the Thanksgiving table, brunch fare including Orange Custard French Toast, and Croissant Bread Pudding with Espresso Butterscotch Sauce for dessert.

cleanClean Food Diet by Jonathan Vine

“Clean” eating can be a challenge, given the amount of processed foods you can find on the market. But eating “clean” can improve your health, boost your immune system, help you think better, make your skin look better and your tummy feel better as well.

It sounds harder than it actually is, but Clean Food Diet explains everything you need to know, including what is clean eating is, how to eat clean and how to cook clean.  The book also contains over 50 natural recipes– from appetizers and soups to main dishes and, yes, even desserts– to you get started.

deliciouslySlow Cooker Recipes: Deliciously Simple Low Carb Recipes for Healthy Living by Sara Banks

This recipe book was created for people that are interested in living the low carb lifestyle, but also want to eat amazing food.  It explains how to use a slow cooker to help you lose weight and eat great.

Eating healthy no longer has to be a challenge and nutritional information is included with each recipe. From seafood stew and crockpot shrimp to buffalo chicken and pork tenderloin, this cookbook contains recipes that will show you how to prepare a fantastic (healthy) meal that will keep you, and your family, wanting more.

heartyHearty Soups: A Collection of Homemade Soups by Dennis Weaver

Winter is the perfect season for a warm, comforting bowl of soup (especially if you live in a colder climate).

This little gem of a book includes recipes–from cream soups to the perfect lemon chicken with garlic and orzo–that are easy to make and are guaranteed to warm your bones without breaking the bank.
easy hommeade

Easy Homemade Bread Recipes – Delicious Home Made Additions To Delectable Cuisine (The Easy Recipe Book 46) by Echo Bay Books

With so many grocery store varieties to choose from, why should you bake your own bread? Simply put: it’s healthier, and cheaper than what you can grab off the shelf. It contains no unnecessary ingredients or preservatives, and you have complete control over the final product. Once you get the hang of it–and this book of recipes will get you started–making bread at home is easy.

This book contains tips and tricks for making the best bread possible, and many mouth-watering recipes–from coconut lime loaf to chocolate chip bagels–to get you started.

365

365 Days of Healthy Juices by Jamie Stewart

Whether you are an enthusiast or are new to juicing, this book will ensure you get your necessary fruits and vegetables on a daily basis.

This recipe collection, complete with easy to follow directions, includes three hundred awesome recipes for the best (and healthiest!) juice combinations, herbal and fruit teas, and fabulous infused waters and flavored waters.

No matter how much time you have to spend prepping, cooking or serving, there is something good for you in this list of indie treats. Thinking about planning a dinner for friends or simply learning what to add to your blender for breakfast? Look no further. Make sure you don an apron and get ready to explore as you become the pioneer in your own kitchen!

Like What You're Reading?

Subscribe for the latest indie book reviews and news, features, tried-and-true author advice and exclusive promotions, delivered to your inbox.

* indicates required
avatar
Keri English
Keri English is a native New Yorker with a penchant for pages both written and downloaded. Now a writer, editor and professor, Keri has also explored a bevy of mini career paths that have provided a wealth of literary ammo for the short story collection she is working on. Some of her favorite things include the scent of paper pages opened after a siesta on cedar shelves, blue Bic pens and black and white composition books. Keri's work has appeared in anthologies, newsletters, The Huffington Post, Indie Reader, Jezebel.com, USAToday.com, In the Powder Room and she blogs at kerialifeinwords.blogspot.com. Follow Keri on Twitter @WriteLoud