If you liked “NYPD Red”, You’ll Love…

As Hollywood on Hudson begins (kind of an amped-up Tribeca Film Festival), New York City is swept up in the glamour.

Every night there are stars walking red carpets as they are followed by paparazzi and fans.  A special task force called NYPD Red is on high alert. When a famous producer fatally collapses at his power breakfast, NYPD Red Detective Zach Jordan is the first one on the scene with his stunning partner, Kylie MacDonald. Zach and Kylie know there’s no way of telling what the murderer has in store. With the whole world watching, they have to find a way to stop a psychopath who has scripted his finale down to the last explosive detail.

If you enjoyed NYPD Red by James Patterson, check out these indies for your next great adventure.

Operator by David Vinjamuri

Michael Herne is an Intelligence Analyst who left home after high school to make something of his life and returns to his hometown after the death of Mel, his high school girlfriend. Following Mel’s funeral, Michael rescues Veronica from a heated argument with a Russian man who claims to be Mel’s boyfriend. It then becomes clear that there is something suspicious about Mel’s apparent suicide and as he gets closer to the truth Michael will truly be tested. This is one thriller that will keep your pages turning as you approach the “Who done it?”

 

Before Her Eyes by Rebecca Forster

In a remote mountain community, a grocer is killed and a world-renowned model is abducted.

The local sheriff Dove Connelly will discover that nothing in their small town is what it seems to be. Texas tough girl, Tessa Bradley battles her abductors. Escaping wounded but alive, Tessa makes a run for her life. From the Author: “Before Her Eyes is the book of my heart. Do we see what we wish for or do we see the reality of how we lived? Keep reading because the twist in this book is on the very last page.”

 

Jeremy’s Loss by Jeff Manapace

In this “paranoid thriller”, med student Jeremy Marsh has lost his beloved mother in a tragic accident. Beside himself with grief, Jeremy meets a disfigured man who reveals that his mother’s death was no accident: she was murdered for unearthing a deadly conspiracy. Can Jeremy trust this mysterious stranger to solve the mystery and uncover the truth? It seems like his only option. From Amazon: “Jeremy’s Loss is a tale of mystery, paranoia, and psychological suspense that will keep you wondering long after the story’s end.”

No Time to Run by J.D. Trafford has been an Amazon Top 100 bestseller and a best-selling Amazon Legal Thriller.

Compared to John Grisham and D.W. Buffa, award-winning author J.D. Trafford has tackled the legal thriller in a powerful way. Michael Collins burned his suits and ties in a beautiful bonfire before leaving New York and taking up residence at Hut No. 7 in a run-down Mexican resort. Leaving the life of a lawyer, Collins expects to relax. However, there are millions of dollars missing from a client’s account and Collins has questions to answer. Then his girlfriend is accused of murder, and he knows he must return. If that’s not enough to grab you, enjoy a special low price to celebrate the release of book 2, No Time to Die.

Murder Takes Time by Giacomo Giammatteo

A tale of childhood friends who have chosen opposite paths in life (crime vs. cops) and must decide where their loyalties lie. Escalating with killing after killing, it’s a wonder that everyone is able to stay sane and live as long as they do.

Murder Takes Time plows through your mind like a freight train. Heavy hitting and well crafted, Giacomo Giammatteo delves into the New York underworld from a fresh perspective. Part mob story, part psychological thriller, this book is not for the weak of heart (or stomach!) Unexpected twists and turns abound as these savvy characters think on their feet through and through. This is a new breed of book.

 

 

 

Enemy in Blue by Derek Blass

The streets aren’t safe when your enemy is in uniform. What happens when the good guys are the bad guys?

As a rogue cop’s crime is caught on video, the situation escalates dramatically. Attorney Cruz Marquez is trying to nail down his enemy in blue. Can he catch the criminal who is also a cop? Will justice be served?

Blass’ book is compared to the work of Patterson, Grisham and Cussler. Make Enemy in Blue your next escape.

 

Dying for Justice by L.J. Sellers is a thrill ride that continues the Detective Jackson series. This time, Wade Jackson is joined by Lara Evans as a woman wakes from a two year coma. Everyone thought the comas resulted from a suicide attempt, but they are about to be proven wrong!

“Sellers is an expert at creating deeply human characters, together with a plot that kept picking up speed as it hurtled to an ending that sent chills up & down my back. Just as that settled down, the ending had me in goose bumps. Sellers’ just keep getting better and this is her best one yet. Highly recommended.”–Crimespree magazine

 

 

The Cold Cold Ground, by Adrian McKinty is book one in The Troubles Trilogy and takes place in Belfast at the height of conflict. In the Spring of 1981, civil war threatens to take over Northern Ireland. Sean Duffy is a Catholic Cop in the almost entirely Protestant Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Now, Duffy tracks a serial killer targeting gay men. Not only must Duffy face the IRA, and the Protestant UVF, he becomes a suspect. Homosexuality is illegal in 1981, Duffy is nobody’s friend and sits between opposing forces that threaten to clash at any moment. This book promises to keep you on the edge of your reading seat!

If you enjoyed James Patterson’s NYPD Red, check out these suspenseful indie selections. Make sure to bring your gun…badges are optional.